• Image 1
  • Image 2
  • Image 3
  • Image 4
  • Image 5
- Making Art Make a Difference Since 1982 -
Working artists coming together to make art accessible to the community through exhibits, classes, and conversations.

August 4 to Sep 15, 2018
Something Boro’d Something Blue

image Exhibit Preview and Demonstration by
Mary Walter and Miho Takeuchi: Aug 2 at 6:00 PM
Artist Reception: August 11, from 2 to 4 PM

“Something Boro’d Something Blue” is an exhibit of quilts influenced by the Japanese Boro traditions and techniques of layered and stitched patchwork.

Japanese Boro, once a functional form of layering and stitching traditional indigo and other fabrics together to patch clothing, futons and other household textiles to extend their usefulness, also became a beautiful statement of how simple hand stitching transcended their humble purpose.

Quilters show us what inspired them based on the Japanese Boro style of patchwork. Entries were made by hand and with machine stitching. Traditional or contemporary designs include elements of stitching and indigo-dyed fabrics alone or in combination with other fabrics. The collection of quilts selected for this exhibit embody the essence of Japanese Boro tradition.

The winner of Best in Show will be announced at 3:30PM at the artist reception.

JURORS Mary Walter (Guest Curator): is an international award-winning quilter, Curator, member of the National Association of Certified Quilt Judges and a recipient of the Commonwealth Award for Excellence in Art.

Miho Takeuchi, a leading expert in the traditional Japanese sewing technique “Sashiko,” is a Japan native who has been creating and teaching Sashiko as well as introducing Japanese culture and fabrics to the US since 1999. Miho was awarded a 3rd Place in Apparel for her jacket at the Pacific International Quilt Festival and a 3rd Place at the Quilters Gathering for her Sashiko jacket.

National Artists include: Agusta Agustsson, Melrose MA; Audrey Augun, Hollis NH; Nancy Bardach, Berkeley CA; Kiranada Sterling Benjamin, Kingston NH; Lisa Binkley, Madison WI; Tricia Deck, Lincoln MA; Betsy Dewolf, Holliston MA; Carol Anne Grotrian, Cambridge MA; Polly Harold, Cambridge MA; Gail Joseph, Leominster MA; Mary-Ellen Latino, Northborough MA; Rebecca Loew, Grinnell IA; Karen Musgrave, Naperville IL; Nita Penfold, Melrose MA; Phyllis Small, West Hartford CT; Marge Tucker, Norwell MA; Laure Warren, Mattapoisett MA; Barbara L. Wester, Naperville IL; and Allison Wilbur, Barrington RI.

Quilt Exhibit sponsored in part by The Quilters Connection Quilt Guild quiltersconnection.org

Image: Reaching for a Boro’d Moon, cotton and silk fabric, paint, thread, batting, by Karen Musgrave, 42” x 30”

The Brush is supported by the Lowell National Historical Park and Eastern National

image The Brush Art Gallery and Studios
256 Market Street, Lowell, MA 01852
(978) 459-7819

We are located in the building behind the Visitor Center on Market Street.
Parking is available in the lot at 304 Dutton St, Lowell, MA 01852 (follow signs for Visitor Center)

April 1 to December 31:
(Tues - Sat) 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
(Sun) 12:00 noon - 4:00 pm

January 1 to March 31:
(Wed - Sat) 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
(Sun) 12:00 noon - 4:00 pm